The Awakening

24 Feb

I don’t think you quite understand.

You are, in fact, poking a sleeping bear.

And not one of those cute and cuddly type of bears that make you scream out “ooh” and “aah” either.

No, not even close.

You see, I am one of those rabid, hungry, and overly aggressive bears. The kind that when simply crossed, will maul without the slightest of warning.

You wouldn’t know it from the looks of me. Hell, most people will never see this side of me at all. But you’ve been poking and prodding for a long while now. And it’s time that you see the size of my teeth. It’s time you feel the pinch of your very own flesh underneath the pressure of my jaw.

You’ve been tiptoeing around for too long now, chucking rocks from afar so as to not awaken me. You select your targets at will, without regard for anything but yourself. In the past,  I have just sat back, gritted my teeth, and watched you play these childish games. On occasion, I would let out a yawn out of pure disinterest.

But lately, your aim has been off.

And now one of your pathetic stones has gone astray.

You have the impression that I don’t know what’s going on. You think that I haven’t got a clue.

But I assure you, I do.

You’ve targeted the very single thing that is most important to a bear. Something so precious and so very sacred. Something that I will not only fight, but win the bloodiest of battles for.

My family.

Your games, your manipulations, and your outright lies have sparked and fueled a rage so intense, there will be no warning, no more pleasantries.

So, here I am.

I’m awake. I’m alert. But most importantly, I am pissed.

I suggest you prepare yourself for what’s to come.

 

25 Responses to “The Awakening”

  1. Sarah Lena February 24, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    YES. YES AND THEN SOME.

    Dude, people have NO clue about the Momma/Poppa Bear.

    Which is a shame, cause it’s LETHAL.

    • TJ February 24, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

      Thanks for the inspiration the other day for this post, Sarah. I’m in full on bear mode now!

  2. jessicakristie February 24, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Yeah, you wouldn’t tell it by the looks of you, but nobody messes with the family. I know that frustration and those feelings well. Awesome write, hope things get better and you don’t have to start swinging. ♥

    • TJ February 24, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      Thank you! Nobody messes with Daddy Bear.

  3. nic @mybottlesup February 24, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    damn straight.

    • TJ February 24, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      Word! *Throws up gang sign*

  4. Mighty Hunter February 24, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    I just realized that you are I are very much alike.

    Come with me, my fellow polar bear.

    • TJ February 24, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      For realz. Let’s tear some shit up.

  5. Hannah Pratt February 24, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    You have just affirmed my fear that random people on the internet are scary. Thanks.

    • TJ February 24, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

      Am I the scary one you are referencing??

      • Hannah Pratt February 24, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

        I think all creative writers/bloggers have the potential to be scary. I’m having trouble picking out who is and who isn’t.

      • TJ February 24, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

        Very true. Although, I can assure you I am only scary when provoked. And when I attempt to breakdance. Or sing. :)

  6. Jen O. February 24, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Get ’em.

  7. Jürgen Nation February 24, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Oooh, you’re going to have to fill me in on this one. What the hell happened?

    And yeah, just hearing how you talk when you’re Daddy Bear, it’s best that whomever this is had better recognize.

    • TJ February 24, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      Instead of Hulk Smash, Bear smash?

  8. Anastasia McDonnellism February 24, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Remember that kids game, ‘Don’t Wake Daddy’? I like this version way better. Keep them choppahs on the ready.

    • TJ February 24, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

      Holy shit! You remember that game??

  9. andygirl February 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    I’m scared. and that’s a good thing. *rawr*

  10. flutter February 24, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Jesus i said I was soooooorrrrrryy!

  11. TwoBusy February 24, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Uh oh.

    ::retreats to bunker::

    • TJ February 24, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      Don’t worry. I made a promise long ago to never harm a blue lobster. You are safe here, my friend.

  12. Frelle February 24, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    Glad I’m not on the receiving end of this. Powerful.

  13. Random Girl February 24, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    hmm, scary and I like it! Best of luck with the ass-kicking!

  14. Wendryn February 24, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Note to self: do not piss this person off. :)

    I like this piece, and I know the feeling.

  15. Jules February 25, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Whoa. I want the scoop.

Leave a Reply

