What Took You So Long?

4 Feb

Out of the corner of my eye, I catch her playing with a few strings of her chocolate brown hair. Without a doubt, the nervousness that surrounds us outweighs our confidence by a mile now. I watch her feet tap the ground at a rabbit’s pace as she sips some fancy cocktail the waitress placed in front of her on a waterlogged coaster. Pretending not to notice as she glances down at her watch for the third time in the last ten minutes, my mind starts racing. Relying on instinct, I place my trembling hand atop of hers. I find myself transfixed on the sound of her breath as our eyes meet for what seems like the very first time.

Then I heard her voice.

“What took you so long?” she whispers with a smile gracing her gorgeous face.

And with that seemingly simple question, I found myself entranced with each subsequent word that spilled from her lips.

What took me so long?

I’m still trying to figure that one out myself.

15 Responses to “What Took You So Long?”

  1. Gwen February 4, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    A Missed opportunity (if I had only..) is worse than being rejected. :) I suppose she was getting tired of waiting. :)

  2. jessicakristie February 4, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Lovely write. ♥♥

  3. andygirl February 4, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    even when it’s short, I enjoy every word you write.

    but then hate you for not telling me more. I want more!

    • TJ February 4, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

      Thanks, Andy! I plan on writing A LOT more now. Make sure you stay tuned!

      And can I say how happy I am to see you comment/still read me?? (I just read your latest blog post) :)

      • andygirl February 10, 2011 at 2:38 am #

        as long as you write, I’ll keep reading!

  4. Jules February 4, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    What a beautiful piece.

    • Fina February 4, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Love it. That is all.

      • TJ February 4, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

        Aw! Thanks, my friend. Much appreciated.

  5. flutter February 4, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    *sigh*

  6. Jenn February 5, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    OH! Who is this lucky gorgeous mysterious soul?

    I second that: *siiigh*

  7. TwoBusy February 6, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    That sense of uncertainty and nervousness and sudden daring when you realize that honestly you have little left to lose — and then the exhilaration of seeing that daring rewarded with a look and a brilliant smile and the eyeblink alchemy of everything within you becoming lighter than air and soaring…

    Man. That was just wonderful.

    • TJ February 6, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      Thank you, my friend. Hearing that from you? Yeah, HUGE.

  8. Random Girl February 6, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    That, my friend, is quite a moment. On both sides of the equation. The best part of something new is the anticipation and you captured that tiny but critical piece of time perfectly. Loved it!

    • TJ February 6, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      I’m so very glad you enjoyed it. Truthfully, I wasn’t even going to post this. I’m happy I did!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention What Took You So Long? « StudioEightOneSix -- Topsy.com - February 4, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dara, TJ Johnson. TJ Johnson said: What Took You So Long? http://wp.me/pDVTH-hH […]

Leave a Reply

