The Day My Life Changed

17 Jan

As the very first cries came from your tiny lips, I found myself lost in you. Up until this point, I had been nervously and anxiously awaiting your arrival for what seemed like an eternity. All of the sudden, you were here in my arms. I could hear your voice, your screams as they alerted my soul to your long-awaited entrance into this world. With my hands trembling, I brushed aside your whimpers with nothing more than a simple stroke of your hair.  Seconds later, you were asleep. A moment in time, frozen in my mind for the rest of my life.

Five years have passed since that cold winter day. I’ve watched you transform into this brilliant, kind, and loving human being. As eager as I am to teach you everything I know, you have been the one to show me all that is right in this world.

In many ways, you are all me. From the way you get frustrated at the smallest of things, to the way you walk, to the way use your hands when you are trying to illustrate your point. But as we are one in the same, we are different as well. You have taught me things that nobody else could ever even possibly do. I watch you interact and love without fear. I watch you make your mother laugh and cry with happiness in the very same moment. I watch you take your sister’s hand and lead her through this world with a passion and devotion like I have never seen. These not so little things seem to be so natural for you. And that warms the inner most part of my soul.

You don’t know it, but as I watch you, I am learning. With each one of your actions, you teach your father the simplest of things he should have already known. I know in the future, you’ll get frustrated with me. You’ll want me to just understand and pick up the simplicity of life the way you do. Just know that I am working on it. I am a slow learner as far a life is concerned. But I know that I’ll get it sooner or later. I have one of the best teachers a man could ask for.

Five years  ago to this very day my life changed for forever. It’s uncanny and heartwarming for me to witness this perfect human being make his way through life. I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am.

Happy Birthday, son. I love you more than these words could ever convey.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “The Day My Life Changed”

  1. Jules January 17, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    What a sweet post!

  2. flutter January 17, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Total blubbering, snotty mess right now. This is beyond precious.

    • TJ January 17, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      Why? Did you watch Steel Magnolias again? I told you not to watch that so early in the morning!

  3. jodifur January 17, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Beautiful post. 5 is such a big birthday.

    • TJ January 17, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      You never really realize just how big 5 years is until you have a kid of your own, huh?

  4. Zoeyjane January 17, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    That was beauty. Happy birthday to your little man.

    • TJ January 17, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      Thank you. Really. You always find a way to pad my ego.

  5. andygirl January 18, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    GAH! I think I need to call my dad now.

  6. Rachael January 20, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Beautiful. Happy Birthday to your son!

  7. Holmes January 25, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Happy birthday to your little dude!

Leave a Reply

