The Finality Of My Failures

27 Dec

As you bent over to pick up the very last box, I heard you let out a long, weary sigh. Most days, I wouldn’t have even paid attention to it. Something so simple, just a part of the daily barrage of sounds that tend to get lost in the background or ignored because you fear their true meaning. But today, as I heard that whisper hover over your pursed lips, it hit my eardrums with a deafening ferocity. It was time. And we both knew it.

You didn’t know I was listening.

But I was.

It probably didn’t even cross your mind something that tiny would resonate to my inner core.

But it did.

Yet, here we were, both lost in our own little worlds. In a matter of minutes, you’d be in the car, watching the garage door shut through the rear view mirror as you drove off. Nearly a decade’s worth of memories reduced to a box, a  glance of an eye, and an auditory reminder of the finality of my failures.

As your arms wrapped around that box, you let out a sigh.

A sigh. A simple, gut-wrenching sigh.

10 Responses to “The Finality Of My Failures”

  1. palinode December 27, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Dude. Here’s hoping things go better for you in 2011.

  2. Julie @ The Mom Slant December 27, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    This is one of those posts that’s best answered with a hug.

  3. Sweetney December 27, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Aww, crap. I know. I know.

    But I also know it’ll be alright.

    xoxo

  4. KBO December 27, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Fuck, TJ. Wish I could say or do something, but there’s nothing to say or do. Here for you.

  5. Jules December 27, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    Damn. That’s all I can say. Damn.

  6. Brahm (alfred lives here) December 27, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Yikes. What to say other than be well, and 2011 will be way better. Or at least suck way less.

  7. Dysfunction Junction December 27, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    I’ve been scarce for lots of reasons, but months ago I swore up & down that 2010 sucked so badly that 2011 HAD to just be better.

    There’s a spot on the tour-bus for you if you want it.

  8. Les December 27, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    Now you’ve done it,my heart is breaking for you…be better!

  9. Zoeyjane December 29, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    Aw, man.

  10. Holmes January 3, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Oh man, I felt this one, way down. Warm thoughts your way, homey.

Leave a Reply

