30 Days Of Truth: Day Eleven

15 Nov

Day 11- Something people seem to compliment you the most on.

I can see you wipe the tears from your face as they run down your cheeks and onto your lips. But for once, you aren’t sad or even angry with me. It’s hard for you to catch your breath as the tears completely distort your vision. Through labored breaths, your chest and abs scream out in pain. It’s the good kind of pain though. The kind of hurt you would gladly take any day. It’s been awhile since I have seen you like this. Truly a nostalgic time warp back to simpler times.

The sound radiating from your mouth fills me with great joy. You’re laughing. I can hear it with my own two ears. Not just a little chuckle either. No, this is one of those giant belly laughs. The kind that involve every muscle in your body. Every neuron in your mind fires with happiness. As the sound of your laugh carries through this empty house, I know I have done my job. I don’t need to search for proof. It’s there right in front of my face. No guessing the emotion coming from your mind. No faking, no charades. This moment is as real as the smile that graces your lips.

I know this moment will fade as fast as it came on. Gone will be that smile, those tears of happiness. The harsh realities of the world will come crashing down on top of us. But as we sit here on this couch, I’m concentrating on hearing and feeling this happen right before me.  My mind refuses to allow anything else in. I’m frozen in that very moment.

You were laughing.

I was laughing.

And for that one second, nothing else mattered.

 

10 Responses to “30 Days Of Truth: Day Eleven”

  1. jodifur November 15, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Beautiful post

    • TJ November 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

      Thanks, Jodi!

  2. TwoBusy November 15, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Man, to be able to capture that moment and make it last…

    If only.

    Anyhow: really, really lovely.

    • TJ November 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

      Thanks, man. After reading your Polite Fictions post today, that means a lot.

  3. Tabatha November 15, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    mind=blown. AGAIN.

    • TJ November 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

      Really? Wow. Thank you.

  4. andygirl November 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    so true! you rock, as always.

    it’s getting a little old really, how awesome you are. would you stop it already? suck for a bit, okay?

  5. mylittlebecky November 15, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    i’m seconding andy. what the hell, man? stoppit!

  6. flutter November 15, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Damn.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 30 Days Of Truth: Day Eleven « StudioEightOneSix -- Topsy.com - November 15, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by TJ Johnson, TJ Johnson. TJ Johnson said: Have you read my latest edition to the truth saga? I'm up to day eleven. Give it a read. http://wp.me/pDVTH-fv […]

Leave a Reply

