My Lame Ass Attempt At A Bake Sale

25 Oct

There are very few things that I actually feel passionate about. Sure, I can get behind most charities, most good causes, and I’ll even buy those damned magazines the neighborhood kids are selling to fund their little league teams. I try to be just as charitable and giving as the next guy. But every once in a while, I stumble upon something that makes me question just how good of a person I really am. It’s not a question of self worth per se, but more of a gut check, a question of just how far I would go for someone else. Truly a “I don’t think I could do this if I tried” type of moment, if you will. When something makes me ask myself that question, I know it’s something worthwhile. And as I was introduced to this latest project, I knew that not only would it be so very important. I knew, in all actuality, that this was beyond phenomenal.

Just like any other day, my inbox is filled with all kinds of wacky and insane emails. I weed through the hilarity with precision. But as I clicked and read this particular email, I was taken aback by just how real it was. Right there, in small Courier New print, was an outline of someone’s life. An outline laid out in front of me and to a handful of others to see. This was her plan. Something that had been bubbling inside of her for years. She had finally identified her calling in life. And there in that email, she was sharing it for all of us to see.

Anastacia didn’t just send out and ordinary, mundane email that day. No, it was more of an opus. A collection of thoughts, ideas, and experiences that most people haven’t and will never deal with in their lifetime. But instead of dwelling on them, instead of keeping everything inside, she wanted to share her life. And as painful as it was, she wanted to share her darkest and most haunting experiences with the world. Deep inside, there was a hope that if she did this, she could help someone else going through the same type of hell she went through, In fact, she no longer wanted to do this, she had to.

It’s funny how a simple email can make you think about yourself. But the one Anastacia sent me that day, made me stop dead in my tracks and wonder just how good of person I truly am. A split second later, I knew I wanted to help in any and every way possible. Anastacia knew what her calling was. And as a friend, I wasn’t going to just sit back and just watch her.

The I Survived Project is something that you need to pay attention to. It’s a documentary about one of the harshest topics around, sexual abuse. It’s real. It’s raw. It’s unapologetic with the truth. Thankfully, I have never had to deal with sexual abuse personally. I thank everything holy and unholy that I’ve never had to experience these types of atrocities. But you know what? I know plenty of people who have. And it sickens me to have to type “plenty”. Now that I am a father, I look at both my children and hope that they will never have to go down that road. Matter of fact, I am going to do EVERYTHING within my power to ensure that they never have to go through things that Anastacia and millions of others out there have had to deal with.

So today, I give you my lame ass attempt at a bake sale. No, I didn’t bake shit for you to buy. Really, all you would get from me is a bad batch of pot brownies anyway. I have something way better than baked goods.

Starting today, I am auctioning of not one, but two family portrait sessions. Each session will include, 1-2 hours of on location photography, a full gallery on my website (studioeightonesix.com), a DVD with ALL the digital files including full duplication rights, and a $50.00 giftcard to tinyprints.com just in case you want to get some holiday cards printed. 100% of the proceeds will go directly to The I Survived Project. Every. Single. Cent. See? I told you! So much better than baked goods. So, what are you waiting for? Get out there and bid! Bid high! Together, we can help make this documentary a reality.

(Obligatory legal type notice: Of course some restrictions WILL APPLY. Please see the auction for details!)

There are two identical packages up for auction! Now get to it!

Listing one: Family Portrait Session Benefiting TISP

Listing two: Family Portrait Session Benefiting TISP

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “My Lame Ass Attempt At A Bake Sale”

  1. flutter October 25, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Stacy is amazing. And your heart is just huge.

    • Jurgen Nation October 25, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

      You are. Don’t make me get into a “Shmoopy” fight with you, C. “You’re Shmoopy!” “No YOU’RE Shmoopy!”

      And yeah, don’t you just sort of marvel how he comes off so cool on distro and something happens and you realize he’s just a big softie?

  2. Jurgen Nation October 25, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    YOU are amazing. I can’t thank you enough for this, Teej. For real. Thank you.

    I think my allergies are acting up. My eyes are all wet for some reason. I’m sure it’s the allergies.

    Thank you.

  3. badassonpaper October 25, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    So proud of you for doing this. What an amazing character you have about you. Very impressed with you, as I am every day. xo

  4. Jules October 26, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    Wow! I wish I lived closer!!!! Dang! But I’ll let people know about it!

  5. sweetney October 26, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Goddamn dude. You really are, like, the nicest guy alive, aren’t you?

    • TJ October 26, 2010 at 11:48 am #

      Shhhhhhh!!!!! You aren’t supposed to say those things out loud. I thought we agreed to keep that a secret?? You’re cramping my style, Tracey! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My Lame Ass Attempt At A Bake Sale « StudioEightOneSix -- Topsy.com - October 25, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by TJ Johnson, Paige Johnson and Jen O., TJ Johnson. TJ Johnson said: My Lame Ass Attempt At A Bake Sale: http://wp.me/pDVTH-ec […]

  2. My Lame Ass Attempt At A Bake Sale « TeeJay Writes - October 25, 2010

    […] Read some mo’ […]

  3. And Elsewhere « StudioEightOneSix - October 29, 2010

    […] My Lame Ass Attempt At A Bake Sale (A benefit auction for The I Survived Project) […]

Leave a Reply

