30 Days of Truth: Day Two

13 Oct

This “30 Days of Truth” thing is kind of hard. Really, it is. Don’t believe me? Try it for yourself. Contrary to popular belief, I truly despise talking (or writing) about myself. I struggle to find the right tone. I fail to come up with anything interesting. Anyway, as usual, I am just rambling about random shit. Now, on to the next truth!

Day 2-Something you love about yourself

Something I love about myself, huh? Well, besides the fact that I am pretty fly for a white guy, I consider myself to be an extremely loyal person. My loyalty is often unmatched by anyone I know. This sounds really conceited of me, but it’s the truth. If I have accepted you into my life, I accept everything about you. Period, point, blank. No matter what you do or what you do to me, I will always be by your side. This is both a gift and a curse. I put up with A LOT of shit that people might think are total deal breakers. Now, that might make me sound like I am stupid or naive, but it’s actually quite the opposite. I am not a total dumbass. I know what’s going on most of the time. I just figure if I’ve let you into my life, there is a reason for you to be there. In my mind, I hope that you’ll be as loyal to me as I am to you. That doesn’t always happen, but I am always willing to give you the benefit of the doubt no matter what.

Not to get all psychological on you, but I truly believe my loyalty has been entrenched in me since childhood. I grew up with just my little sister and my mother around. Just us three. If you’ve ever grown up in that type of situation, you learn to cherish and respect loyalty. Watching a single mother work two jobs to provide for her two children teaches you the utmost respect for how much loyalty there is in this world. Many nights, I would watch my mother come in after a double shift at the local restaurant chain. Her hair would smell like grease. Her feet ached from 14 non-stop hours of standing on her feet. Still, the first thing she would do? Ask my sister and I, “How was your day?” Even at a young age, I knew she hurt. I could see the years of physical pain catch up to her as she limped down the hallway past my door. I could see the decades of emotional loss behind the specks of gray and blue in her eyes. Nothing that happened to her that day mattered anymore. The previous 14 hours seemed to melt away as my sister and I jabbered on about our respective days. She knew she was safe now. She was at home, with the two people that adored her the most. For the first time all day, should could breathe. My sister and I were her air. This I knew because no matter how bumpy the road was, she always reminded us just how important we were to her.

A lot of people looked down on us because we were that “broken home”. Sure, we weren’t that prototypical nuclear family of four. There wasn’t a white picket fence. There wasn’t a dog in the backyard. What we lacked in appearances, we made up in love. And actually, in reality, there wasn’t a thing broken about us at all. “Broken” was a label for outsiders who didn’t understand. A way for them to categorize us as something different than the socially accepted norm. But we knew exactly who we were. We didn’t need labels, white fences, or extravagant things. We didn’t need anything else to feel complete. Our family unit was tight-knit. Collectively hellbent on protecting each other at no cost, with no regard for our own happiness or safety. At the end of each day, we always knew we could count on each other even when we couldn’t count on much else.  Through thick, thin, heartbreak and happiness, we had each others backs. Even at the age of thirty, I know that stands true today. And if that isn’t loyalty, I don’t know what is.

16 Responses to “30 Days of Truth: Day Two”

  1. Jen O. October 13, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Fantastic. Definitely a perfect thing to love about yourself.

    But, personally, I would have gone with your white fly-ness as #1.

  2. jodifur October 13, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Ours were crazy similar.

    • TJ October 13, 2010 at 9:19 am #

      I know! :) I just left basically the same comment on your post.

  3. Bitchin' Amy October 13, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    My husband grew up with just his mom and brother and he feels exactly the same way. I grew up where I fully expected my brother and sisters to throw me under the bus at any given moment, so I wouldn’t list Loyalty as the first quality I love about myself, ahem, but I have other ones that are super great, too. ;)

    Now I need to go read Jodi’s!

  4. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah October 13, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    And yes, you are pretty fly too.

  5. andygirl October 13, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    I love it when you write about yourself. you’ve got a great “voice.” and this story made me smile. family is what you make it and I’m glad yours was loving and close.

    • TJ October 13, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      Thanks, Andy. As always, you rock!

  6. Jurgen Nation October 13, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    This made my… umm … allergies flare up. You’re not only fly, but you’re good people and I bet you a candy corn that this has made you a better father and husband.

    • TJ October 13, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      You have the eye allergies too?? :)

  7. bri October 13, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    First of all, your “broken” little family sounds awesome. Or maybe I just think that because I identify with your mom.

    Secondly, loyal is great. There’s no such thing as “loyal to a fault”– your loyalty will always serve you well in the long run. It’s kind of like karma, but in a different way.

  8. flutter October 13, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Oh man, this is totally charming. You are a good guy and you have a great family

  9. phulphunk October 13, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    I like this.

  10. sweetney October 14, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Scary. We may be the same person. But with different bits down there.

  11. Jules October 14, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    You had me at “pretty fly for a white guy” but then you had to go and tell a sweet story which made me adore you even more. Damn you. Stop it.

  12. mylittlebecky October 15, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    yes. loved this one. i’m really similar about friends, etc. loyalty is rare, i’ve found but when you’re loyal, sometimes you just might get that back. which is pretty awesome too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 Days of Truth: Day Two « TeeJay Writes - October 13, 2010

    […] Want more? […]

Leave a Reply

