Broken: Part Three

15 Sep

“Oh, shit! Oh, shit! Oh, shit!”, I mumbled to myself. Well, at least I thought I was mumbling these things to myself. With each expletive that left my mouth, the volume of my disdain seemed to skyrocket to the point random people were staring at me as I feverishly marched down the street. “Did he see me?”, I asked out loud to the unwitting passersby. I don’t know what I was expecting. I wanted someone to give me an answer. Surely, one of these strangers would know something. I mean, I couldn’t wrap my mind around what had just occurred. Someone other than me had to have the answer.

We live in a city of over 8 million people. That’s EIGHT. MILLION. PEOPLE.  He just had to be on the very same train at the very exact time. One full year to the day had passed without a word, without a clue to his whereabouts or well-being. The last months of my life had been dedicated to wiping my mind free from every single memory of him. And with nothing more than a brief encounter with his laugh, there he was staining my brain with memories that I had tried so hard to forget.

It’s amazing how a single chuckle can ruin your day. If it wasn’t enough that I was already late to work and dumped my purse out for all of the train to see, I now had to deal with every imaginable emotion associated with this man. As I trudged through the seemingly never-ending crowded sidewalk with nothing but my purse and a portion of a found newspaper to protect me from the sudden onslaught of cold, stinging rain, I failed to keep myself together. I could feel the tears well up in each eye and mix with the rain as they poured down my face. It wasn’t even ten o’clock yet and I was already defeated. My mind broken,  my soul ripped apart. I could feel the stares from my co-workers as I  made my way through the office. Their eyes seared through the newspaper as I tried to cover my face as if I were a leper hiding her spots. With the rain, tears, and mascara running down my face, I slammed myself into my chair. “One breath at a time.”, I uttered as my voice quivered in between the tears. “Just one breath at a time.”

(Part One of Broken)

(Part Two of Broken)

8 Responses to “Broken: Part Three”

  1. Dysfunction Junction September 15, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Lovely. Just lovely. Always amazing how one little look, one laugh can alter your whole world.

    It’s also why I don’t wear eye makeup. Makes the morning cry a lot less messy.

  2. badassonpaper September 15, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Engaging, thoughtful, interesting. I am anxious for more! Great work, honey.

  3. JenGid September 15, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Very captivating, and I’m again left wanting more.

    • Holly B September 15, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      As do I .. I had to go back and read parts 1 and 2 .. now I want part 4 and more.

  4. Amy @ The Bitchin' Wives Club September 16, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    Yikes! I’m not sure I want to know what happened… Ok, fine, I do want to know. When??

  5. Holmes September 16, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    This is cool, man. Seems to be getting better and better with each new part.

  6. jules September 16, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    That’s it??? That’s all I get???? MORE!!! I need more!!!!!

  7. flutter September 17, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    you’re pretty good at this writing thing

Leave a Reply

