And In That Moment, My Mind Was Free

1 Sep

As I threw the tiny plastic ball towards him, I could see the setting sun laced with dark clouds in the Western sky. Brilliant oranges and reds peered through each and every crevice in which these enormous masses of vapor could not cover.  A gentle breeze cooled my skin as it passed us by. For a moment, time had stopped. I was transfixed and quickly ushered to another realm of reality. I am not sure just how much time had gone by, but judging from the inflection of his impatient response, I am sure it had been a while.

“Strike One!”, he yelled followed by a mischievous giggle.

That was the last thing that I heard. In that few minutes we played in the front yard, the real world no longer existed. I’m sure he said a bevy of things during our time together, but my mind would not allow me to process them. I watched him scamper about the yard as if he were some kind of wild animal just set free from a life in captivity.

Most days, the world does nothing but create confusion and angst. It tries to ruin your soul and eliminate the hopes built up in your mind. But on that day, it was just me and my son. Nothing else matter, but him, that ball, and that bat. For once, my vision was clear. And in that moment, my mind was free.

7 Responses to “And In That Moment, My Mind Was Free”

  1. socarolinesays September 1, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    beautiful!

    • TJ September 1, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      Thank you!!

  2. andygirl September 1, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    too sweet

  3. JenGid September 1, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Nice. You realize this makes me hungry for Part 3 right?

  4. Holmes September 1, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    This was really really nice. I love those moments.

    • TJ September 1, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

      Thanks, man. It’s good to have a male’s perspective every now and then. Why? Because us dads kick ass.

  5. jules September 4, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

