Broken: Part Two

16 Jul

“Excuse me, miss. I think you must’ve dropped this.” Confused, I looked down only to notice half of the contents of my purse laying on the floor of the subway car. “Ugh! Get your shit together, Allie.”, I muttered underneath my breath. The polite, little old lady sitting next to me in the overcrowded train was still holding a small, silver cylinder in her hand. “Ah! My lipstick! Thank you so much, ma’am.”, I said as I held out my hand for the offering. “I wouldn’t have been able to make it through the entire day without it.” “My pleasure, darling. Although, I don’t think you really need it.”, she quipped with a motherly tone to her raspy, aging voice. “I must have fallen asleep again.”, I said ever so sheepishly. With a confused look to her face, she shook her head, grinned, and went back to crocheting what looked to be some sort of odd-shaped baby blanket.

Most people hate the subway. They complain about the sights, smells, and the hoards of people. But for me, none of those things have ever bothered me a bit. The subway is my only reprieve from my hectic life. It’s the only part of my day were my thoughts drown in anonymity. At times, I feel like it’s the only place where I can blend into the crowd. My quirky mannerisms and actions are instantly lost amongst the daily shuffle. Most days, I abandon reality as the  screeching and clanking sounds reverberate from the steel tracks. The vibration and swaying motion of the train cars are satisfyingly hypnotic. The hustle and bustle of the organized chaos amazingly all but lull me to sleep. At times, I’ve been so out of it, I missed my stop altogether. That could be partially because I am still half asleep before I even step on board. Today would be no exception. Between drifting off into space and dropping my purse, I failed to notice my stop fly by. In fact, by now, I was four stops beyond my original destination.

“Shit!”, I blurted out as if I had a bad case of Tourette’s Syndrome. With all the grace and splendor of a newborn fawn, I  quickly rose to my feet. The swaying of the train car was not about to let me catch my balance. Before I knew it, I was right back on the floor of the subway picking up the pieces of my purse again. This time around, however, there wasn’t a kind little old lady to help me. As I scrambled to usher every piece of my life back into my bag, I heard a familiar laugh coming from the other end of the car. The shivers than ran up my spine signaled just how shitty my day would become. It had been a year since I had seen him last. And there he was, a mere twenty feet away. I didn’t even have to look up to know it was him. I could hear the soul of his voice. I could feel the bass of his words. The more time I spent on the floor, the more flustered I became. Each curse word that flowed from my mouth came with a stammer and stutter unmatched by a nervous adolescent boy asking a girl out on a first date. Without warning, the train came to a screeching halt. With my heart pounding out of my chest, I scraped up what was left of my belongings and jumped out of the door.

(You can read part one of Broken HERE)

13 Responses to “Broken: Part Two”

  1. jules July 16, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    And????????????

    • TJ July 16, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

      You will have to wait and see!

    • Suzanne July 22, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      yes, my thoughts exactly, and…? Hurry up TJ!

      • TJ July 22, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

        The more comments I get on the this, the faster I will write! :) So, send it to all your friends. It’s for the good of the story, remember?

  2. Bitchin' Amy July 16, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I’m hooked! What happens next?!

    • TJ July 16, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

      Stay tuned, Amy!! Can I tell you just how awesome it is that you are “hooked”? :)

  3. flutter July 16, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I totally love this!

    • TJ July 16, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

      Thank you!!!

  4. Holmes July 19, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    I read part 1 and then this and dug them both. Looking forward to the next installment.

    • TJ July 19, 2010 at 10:29 am #

      Thanks, man. Much appreciated!

  5. JenGid August 2, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    Here’s hoping another comment will tip the scales in our favor! So good.

    • TJ August 2, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

      Okay. Now I’m blushing. I am working on part three right now! Make sure you check back for an update.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Broken: Part Three « StudioEightOneSix - September 15, 2010

    […] (Part Two of Broken) […]

Leave a Reply

