Thank You, Daryl Hall and John Oates

21 May

It’s no secret I have been in a total shit funk the last couple of months. I have not exactly been myself or even a tolerable human being for the most part. Waking up on the daily, feeling like a bag of mashed assholes does something particularly detrimental to one’s soul.  This week, however, things are slowly starting to change. I actually have a sense of hope again. Numerous times this week, I have begun to laugh and let a little bit of sunshine filter through the dark spaces in my mind. Today, during my outright mundane commute to my so-called day job, I was reminded of just how beautiful life can be. Now, I am not going to get all philosophical on you or try to pretend to be all roses and no thorns here, but what occurred this otherwise ordinary morning is on the same level as unicorns and leprechauns. Yes, you guessed it. Purely magical.

As I shuffled my heavy feet through the garage to my rental car, I noticed a shiny disc on the ground amongst the heap of toys, bicycles, and Power Wheels. Almost immediately, my curiosity got the best of me. Thanks to my extra long shower, I was already late to work. So, stopping to rummage through my garage wasn’t exactly on my to do list. Still, I couldn’t shake this tiny, little object that seemed to be glowing to get my attention. (Let’s face it, we all know how I am easily distracted by shiny things.) After damn near tripping over a foam covered baseball bat and sidewalk chalk, I finally made my way to the shiny thing. And there it was. At first, I almost dismissed it. After all, I was nothing but a plain old burned CD-R disc. “Probably just a stupid mix-tape”, I mumbled to myself. But as my eyes focused on the unknown prize, I realized just what I had in my hands. There, etched in black Sharpie pen, were just a few words. “The Daryl Hall and John Oates Ultimate Collection, Volume One”, it read. A couple of words and two full names that, at that moment, I didn’t know would instantly become the soundtrack and credo of my day.

At this point in my life, I have totally given up on Kansas City’s radio stations. They all sound the same and have nothing to offer me unless I want to listen to Beyoncé or Brittany Spears on a constant loop. So, my typical morning drive is usually filled with nothing more than sports talk radio. The witty banter and rage fueled arguments with multiple callers is enough to put my brain at ease for the 19 mile trek. Today, however, was a different day. As I put the Camry in reverse, I popped my newly discovered surprise into the handy-dandy CD player. I didn’t even make it to the end of my sub-division without cranking up the volume to a deafening level. She’s Gone, When The Morning Comes, and You Make My Dreams filled the cabin with a feeling of calm and happiness. Without warning, my mind instantly concentrated on all the small and inornate things that ultimately make me happy. Some of these things I hadn’t thought about in a long time. Some of these things are right in my face on a daily basis, but in typical fashion, I had failed to be smart enough to clue in on them and let them help me through my self-imposed darkness. My wife’s beautiful eyes and the touch of her skin. The smell of fresh-cut grass on a rainy day. The little things that get swept under the proverbial rug when you think nothing is going to be great in your world again. It’s amazing how vocals, rhythm, and a little bit of  musical soul can transform you. Today, I feel like a new person. A new-found optimism props up my smile. So, thank you, Mr. Daryl Hall. I salute you, John Oates. I needed a smack in the face and you were there to give it to me.

5 Responses to “Thank You, Daryl Hall and John Oates”

  1. erica May 21, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    i love music sooo much its always my fave way to brighten my day. as cheesy as it is the grateful dead has changed my life. once you get pass all the superficial hippie thing the really do preach a good message. either way i totally feel you man music can definitely inspire the soul. its all about what you make of it.

    • studioeightonesix May 21, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

      Music is a soundtrack for our lives. I agree, it can brighten the worst of days. People who lack a musical life are really missing out on a huge and awesome thing!

  2. Suzanne May 25, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    I have an hour commute to work and I have to have music. Since radio music is ok at best, I usually have my iPod plugged in.

    Music sings to the soul. Glad to hear it showed you some of the beautiful things in your life.

    • studioeightonesix May 25, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

      An hour commute? I do no envy you! I usually have my iPod/iPhone as well. Sometimes, even that gets kind of stale!

      • Suzanne May 25, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

        Commuting is a drag. Get it?! Ok, so not that funny. I look forward to shortening that trip sometime later this year though.

        I have 40GB of music, so it hasn’t gotten stale yet!

Leave a Reply

