Our House, Diabetes Supplies, and Late Night Informercials…Oh My!

21 Dec

As you all can tell, (And by “all”, I am talking to the two people who actually read this. Thanks, honey!) I have been completely off the grid for a while. Things have been a little hectic around the ponderosa lately. Thanks to my wife’s overactive ovaries, coupled with my awesome swimmers, my wife got knocked up and subsequently our little girl was born midway through the month of November. This has left me without the basic ability to form cohesive thoughts and perform even the simplest of tasks. I mean, I even got confused on how to change the channel on my own television last night. Between the ever relaxing 57 minutes of consecutive sleep, strict Pop Tart diet,  and watching every single infomercial known to man, I haven’t exactly had any brainpower left to form anything useful or remotely eloquent to say or type for that matter.  So today, I give you the only thing that still sparks interest in my sleep deprived mind. The one and only, Wilford Brimley. When his fat little nugget face pops on my tv at 3am every morning selling diabetes supplies, my mind is immediately soothed. His slow, almost post- stroke vernacular tames every little crazy psychotic thought rolling around in my tiny, tiny brain. At times, I often have delusions of actually having diabetes just so I can purchase the supplies necessary to test myself in the comfort of my own home. I envision myself calling the handy 800 number only to have, Mr. Brimley, himself answer and tell me “Everything’s going to be OK, TJ”. He will follow-up the reassurance by conveniently alerting me that I can have my diabetes supplies shipped directly to my door. What more could I ask for, right? Anyway, I salute you, Wilford. You are my hero. Well, at least until I can sleep again.

One Response to “Our House, Diabetes Supplies, and Late Night Informercials…Oh My!”

  1. Tito Von Sukadong December 22, 2009 at 2:48 am #

    Nice one! Is he still on the oatmeal commercials?

Leave a Reply

